The Greep Files – 1

Greeps*,creeps, eeks and yeeks
Available in all shapes and sizes in all parts of the world
Mostly encountered if you are young, attraaaa(n)aactive and most importantly – female!
Though most creeps and eeks are male, there are, as always, exceptions to the rule…

The following is a classic case of a greep.
These are ACTUAL mails I received from a real time loser at the workplace.
No part of the document has been tweaked or spiced up – it has been presented to you “as-is”

*greep – (noun), a geeky creep, Copyright Udeesha Srivastava, a colleague of TVNMCB)

FILE ONE:
sub: *My name* Important

Hello,
I don’t know how to start. Just a request, please don’t get annoyed or irritated after reading the mail. I liked the way you carry yourself in small interaction we had and would like to be friends with you. It is one the rare occasions when I had an opportunity to see such a cool and composed personality. I am not the kind of person who would pester someone.

Kindly give a serious thought to an earnest request of accepting my friendship. In any case please convey your decision by a reply to this mail. I will be highly thankful. One more request, please don’t create an issue out of this.
Regards
Kris

My reply (biiig mistake):
I am sorry I am unable to place you.
Where have we met / spoken?

FILE TWO:
sub: Hello

Hello ,
Aah! I agree that was fault on my part. I should have started with a formal introduction, but I dunno why but I was little scared :).

Okie, going forward, I did my engineering and did my MBA in Finance from reputed colleges. . Presently I’m working as a Business Analyst in Bangalore itself. Okie, to make it clear, I just intend to talk to u and be a friend. About you, I just know that you did your grad in English. I am preparing for GMAT and felt that you would be ideal person to help in my pursuit.

Hey! I’m too lazy to type more :). Can u please pass me ur yahoo messenger ID. Let’s meet there and discuss more.

Hey no second thoughts! I don’t think there’s any harm in being a friend. Looking forward for an equally cute reply (not a one liner :)).

Accha, so catch ya soon.

Cheers and lots of fun when we meet on Ymsgr

FILE THREE:
Sub: questionnaire [important]

Hello,
Sincerely speaking I was expecting a reply from your side. I would earnestly request you to select one/many of the options mentioned underneath [with explanation, if possible] as the possible reason for not replying:

a)You felt that the counterparty is a stalker. [This is trivial, Watson]
b)You already have a lot of friends. [There is no harm in having one more.]
c)You felt that counterparty is not worth because he/she didn’t came in person. [I didn’t wanted unwelcome risk with huge possible downside]
d)You are too busy. [You can judge better]
e)Any other ______________________[pls. specify]

My comments: I would have been flattered if I would have got those mails and surely rewarded counterparty with a cup of coffee at a mutually agreed place. [At least after this mail].
Request: Pls. don’t get irritated or annoyed as my intentions are not to bother you.
Pls. reply to this, I will be highly thankful.

FILE FOUR:
sub: final mail frm my side; pls read

Hello,
I must have acquired villainous status in your mind by now, which I never intended. I had honest intentions which perhaps were misunderstood or misinterpreted; I will leave that for you to decide.

If you still choose not to reply, this is the final mail from my side, as I sincerely feel that everything should have a logical ending. I will be contend looking at you without ever letting you know or disturbing you. In any case, all the very best for all your future endeavors.

Final regards
________________________________________________________
Final regards???

“Is he suicidal?” quoth Udeesha.

The stupidity turned to harassment when this greep was persistent in his greepiness, and thought that contacting a friend (third counterparty if you may!) was a sure way to get to me. Neither of us had any clue as to who this psycho was. When I tried to get him to meet me, he kept dodging me by saying “I do not want to lose my job over something so trivial”

I had to finally lodge an official complaint for all this to end.

We hear about harassment in the workplace, but it’s another thing when you have to encounter it, and encounter it every single day of your life. And it is a terrible state of affairs when the harasser knows what s/he’s doing, but brushes it away as “trivial”

I still do not know what exactly the greep wanted, and I know for a fact I only wasted my time by trying to figure it out.

My only question is: Why?
My earworm for the month during this ordeal was “Eleanor Rigby” by the Beatles
“All the lonely people, where do they all come from
All the lonely people, where do they all belong”

Some questions can never be answered, can they?

7 Responses to “The Greep Files – 1”

  1. rohit Says:

    haaaii darleeng! me liking ur ‘sooo cool ya’ persenalytie. pleej understand my emoshuns that i am feeling for you.. are yuvar feelings for me same to same? if so i wanting very much to sharing cup of coffee with you.. one glass with two dil shaped straws jest for us.. i lauu u trulee, madlee and depthfully waiting to hear from u disparatelyuvars one and wonly… roghit nayar ps: i am rich olso.. u see i am thubbai return! we can start off familys planing.. i want 2 bebbees but u will be my original bebbee! i wont caampramise.. pramise! i lauu u wonly!

  2. phreakv6 Says:

    “geeky creep” is an oxymoron.This guy is certainly a creep buti bet _not_ a geek.geeks can never write mails like that.geeks are very particular about language and would most likely start a Ballmer err.< HREF="http://yro.slashdot.org/article.pl?sid=05/09/03/0515250&tid=109" REL="nofollow">Balmer vs. Google<> discussion with adebate if the post was a libel orslander.eeks and yeeks ?umma [g]umma with the ‘g’ for geekwould be macerated better with thegeek community. 🙂and ya.. this guy has done a MBA fromwhat i see in FILE 2.ttly dispelsany hope of this guy being/becoming a geek in the near,far and infinite future.—true geek since 1982PS1 : ummagumma is creepy album by floyd [ 1969 ]PS2 : this guy depresses mePSX : nothing for you here.. move on !

  3. Trauma Queen Says:

    Roghit!!!!Ennakka naanam varanyo(a terrible translation of: “sky is coming”)I am sooo haaabi that you want to share your lau with me buy having kofi in haurt shaped stroes. But unfaartunately I am yengaged to a former who is from (the) punjab. Hiss name is Penkgej Zing, but lauingly I call him ‘pengi’. (You see it rhymes with ‘mengi’, he is a reeeyel mengi)But my cussin Lola Kutty (ace, ace, same won on chaaanil v) will be more than haabi to lau you. After all, who can resssist the chaurms of a thubbai mal?And if note for Lola, there iss my other kussin Shymole Kutty (her twin brether’s name iss Shymon). They are Bahrain returned gelf mals. So nice no? What you say now Roghit cheta? (khi khi khi)

  4. Trauma Queen Says:

    hey u phrgeeky phrgeekkYa those r the weird sounds that come out of my mouth when i try to call u a geeky phreak!!!And thats only cos a geek can NEVER be a freak! And if he is, he’s just a weird farty sound!😛trauma jokes apart, I’m glad to know ur so loyal to the geek clan…but blv me greeps exist, and thats only cos theyre cats on the fence..not knowing whether to be geeks or creeps..and land up making such a hash outta their existence….so bad that it disturbs true blue geeks like you!(btw according to my defintion to a geek, he’s sumone who’d go “Pink Floyd..what dat??”)But i respect your respect for geekdom, and from this moment, I shall offically bestow upon you the title “God of all blue blooded geeks”Arise Sir Geek!

  5. Udeesha Says:

    Awesome Chits!! Love the way you’ve scripted the whole thing! Like the new layout too! Thanks for giving me the copyright for the golden word of the millenium “greep”. It definitely means a geeky creep, but it can also mean a creepy geek when the creepiness “overshadows” the geekiness… hehe… now that only you can understand!

  6. Jasmeen Says:

    and then there is mobile stalking as well..will put pictures of it on the blog- smsshowever, there is a vast difference in the perception of threat between the public and online space…there is complete anonymity in the latter and therefor the freedom to impinge fearlessly and the freedom to retaliate without causing self harm.would you like to write an excrpt on e stalking and put it on the blank noise blog?do let me knw..be well

  7. The Greep Files – 2 « Total Trauma Says:

    […] posted the first set of the greep files back in 2005 when it happened. I am completing the story […]


Leave a Reply

