Reena Virk

My friend and I were talking about ‘The Lord of the Flies’. Just this afternoon he sent me an email link to a novel titled ‘Under the Bridge’ by Rebecca Godfrey. It speaks about the gruesome murder of a young Indian girl named Reena Virk, a murder that truly lives up to Golding’s style.
The only difference between Golding and Godfrey, is that Godfrey’s story claims to be “a true story”

This caught my attention. Are you even remotely suggesting that one of the most intense novels I have read, can be “a true story”?

I then asked myself: Who is Reena Virk? Is this story even true?

All that was needed was a google search for me to get the answers to those questions….and the answers that I got, disturbed me.

All of us have read millions of theories on Golding’s novel, about inherent evil, and how evil knows no age-limit…..
but Reena Virk’s story – -scared the shit outta me.

For those of you who, like me, were ignorant..read on

The murder of Reena Virk: A timeline

“An overweight teen” who didn’t fit in

A blogger’s eye-opening post

Reena was my age. She was Indian. She died on children’s day.

Does innocence exist?

7 Responses to “Reena Virk”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    I’m sorry, but I have to do this.Let me quote a friend of mine who recently said:“Hiya Fatty! ….You can rest your butt in the comfort of a chairYou can eat all the junk you come by.But you’re never gonna seeWhat us normal people seeIf you’re always gonna be a Sloppy JoeSo dear Sloppy Joes – how about starting to get a life?”Normal is the most controversial term here, of course.No, TVNMCB, innocence does not exist. And you (like all of us) do your bit to make sure that it doesn’t.*sad*–NJ

  2. Trauma Queen Says:

    cmon NJ…i think ur carrying things a bit too far….my sloppy joe song was specifically written for 2 close friends…and this blog of mine is seen by close friends…who I know for a fact are god sports. What surprises me is the confidence with which you draw a parallel between a brutal murder and a spoof.i too have been teased all my life, not for being fat, but for being too thin. i too have known have been a victim of bullies throughout school and i know what it is like to be humiliated for not being ‘normal’. and i also play my part in making fun of others, who like me, are ‘abnormal’ (of course, as you said, ‘normal’ is controversial…)a funny dig or a witty retort remains ‘innocent’ as long as the poeple involved know that there is nothing malicious about it. but nilesh, what are you trying to prove here?

  3. phreakv6 Says:

    hav 2 admit that am too yellow to even read those articles.. 😦

  4. Anonymous Says:

    Well, I insist that innocence does not exist, but the reasons for this opinion go beyond this specific issue, so another time.I guess I should have phrased my comment as a question, avoiding the confident tone I used (which even denied you the benefit of doubt).And no, I’m not trying to prove anything here. [I’m not fat and I still don’t have a life though!]😦–NJ

  5. Trauma Queen Says:

    brni…here’s a preview:Nov. 14, 1997 :“Reena Virk, 14, is swarmed and beaten under a bridge in Saanich on Vancouver Island by a group of teenagers, mainly girls. Battered and bloodied, she manages to get up and stagger across the bridge toward a bus stop to make her way home. Two of the original attackers drag her back and beat her again and leave her in Victoria’s Gorge waterway. That’s where police find her body eight days later. Witnesses later testified that one of the accused bragged that she had one foot on Virk’s head and smoked a cigarette as Virk lay in the water.”the ‘bragger’ was sentenced only earlier this year…I do hope this makes you want to read more….

  6. Anonymous Says:

    Rebecca Godfrey, the author of <>Under the Bridge<>, is the daughter of retired University of Victoria creative writing professor, David Godfrey, who knew William Golding, the author of <>Lord of the Flies<>.Interestingly, in 1984 Rebecca’s brother, John, also died of drowning and being unconscious while in his teen years, just like Reena Virk. But he didn’t drown under a bridge. Instead, it was at the Godfrey’s backyard – their oceanfront property.<>Under the Bridge<> is a great book since the author has a such a close relationship to this kind of death.

  7. Anonymous Says:

    The part of the book that I didn’t like was that it didn’t deal with sibling abuse. The first violent steps that a person usually takes are against their brother or sister. And seeing that the author’s brother died at her home, I wonder does she just want to avoid the issue?


Leave a Reply

